Prologue: Intelligent logistics worldwide

As a renowned and leading Fourth Party Logistics Provider (4PL), Prologue designs, structures, and optimizes the entire supply chain for corporate customers, including all management and organizational processes.

4PL vs. Freight forwarding companies

What separates 4PL providers from freight forwarding companies? Prologue sees itself as an independent supply chain integrator that centrally manages and optimizes all service partners, as well as the flow of information. All the services can be flexibly and individually adapted to the customer’s individual requirements based on ‘best-of-breed’ solutions. That is because it is not necessary to utilize your own transport or storage resources – instead, the focus is purely on customer benefit.

Your added value

What’s in it for you? Prologue ensures maximum efficiency in procurement logistics while respecting all the resources used and available. The annual savings potential for the overall logistics costs can be between 20% and 30% – with maximum cost transparency and planning reliability.

Our customers

Who would be interested? Partnering with Prologue is in the interest of any company with an annual logistics volume of about 1,000 sea freight containers or more. Our subsidiary Eurasia offers special solutions for customers with smaller volumes.

Our unique selling points

What sets us apart from other 4PL providers? There are six major differences between Prologue and its competitors that have been the key to its sustainable success for 20 years.


 

1. Comprehensive consulting

We evaluate all the relevant factors along the entire supply chain in depth and optimize all the components separately and collectively. That allows us to achieve a significant and lasting increase in efficiency.

2. Sustainable approach

The focus of our approach is not on a purely (daily) price-driven short-term perspective, but on a medium- to long-term view of total logistics costs.

3. Unconditional reliability

Our network of long-standing partners along the entire supply chain consists exclusively of renowned companies with a common code of values and understanding of quality, the basic core of which is reliable planning for the customer.

4. Maximum transparency

We disclose all cost factors along the entire supply chain in detail and offer maximum transparency of every cost. Our customers benefit directly from our conditions. A mixed calculation at the expense of the customer is inconsistent with our self-image.

5. Well-established expertise

Prologue’s business model and range of services are based on the economics expertise and visionary innovation of two renowned industry experts – Prof. Dr. Helmut Merkel and Hans Bröhl.

6. Established market position

Based on years of reliable partnering, Prologue enjoys direct customer status with shipping companies, providing it with access to exclusive advantages and conditions. Prologue’s customers benefit directly and immediately from the transparent transfer of these special delivery and purchasing conditions.

Prologue THEN

Two generations of entrepreneurial spirit and 20 years of innovation.

Professor Dr. Helmut Merkel, the father of the current managing director Patrick Merkel, laid the foundation for the sustainable business success of Prologue, based on three different factors:

In 1990, researchers at CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research in Switzerland, published the Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), laying the foundations of the World Wide Web. In 1993, Professor Dr. Merkel observed that companies participating in international supply chains started joining forces online and optimizing their procurement logistics in a self-efficient manner. As a member of the management board of a large shoe retail company in Essen, he adapted this privilege initially reserved for large retail companies, developing one of the most modern supply chains in the world. These actions made him an active digitalization pioneer and visionary.

At the time, it was difficult for companies to access the international transport market. Sea carriers such as Hapag Loyd did not have their own sales forces. This task was performed by freight forwarders who would reserve fixed container volumes and pass an opaque price resulting from a mixed calculation on to their customers. In order to break up these structures, Professor Dr. Merkel and his then-employer dared to break the taboo and negotiate directly with the shipping companies. The joint planning basis for this is one of the first information sharing service providers in the world in Hong Kong. The result of the efforts was resounding: direct access to the maritime transport market with full supply chain transparency.

In 1997, Professor Dr. Merkel set up his own business with the consulting firm IM+C and continued to develop the concept of information sharing scientifically as part of his honorary professorship at the University of Mannheim. That resulted in the business idea of pooling the transport volumes of several small companies without direct access to the maritime transport market in order to conclude large-volume supply contracts directly with the shipping companies. The resulting wholesale benefits benefit the participating companies directly (group buying). In addition to direct access to the maritime transport market, another first was achieved: for the first time, billing the shipping companies directly provided complete transparency of all the costs. The first customers during this period were companies such as Esprit, NKD, and Hornbach, some of which are still managed to this day.

Milestones

2001 – Founding of Prologue GmbH in Cologne as a spin-off of IM+C AG Unternehmensberatung in Mannheim by Professor Dr. Helmut Merkel and Hans Bröhl, a proven logistics expert and former managing director of Panalpina Welttransport Holding AG.

2005 – Opening of the Hamburg office with Sven Schürnpeck as on-site Managing Director.

2006 – Opening of the Hong Kong office with Patrick Merkel as on-site Managing Director.

2014 – Change of headquarters to Hamburg and closure of the Cologne office.

2015 – Takeover of the company by the directors from the founders.

Prologue’s success factors

In addition to technical innovation and the digitalization of all processes, it is especially the factors of trust and reliability that have been the reasons for Prologue’s sustainable success for more than 20 years.

This is underpinned by the completely transparent calculations and the resulting planning reliability.

Convincing numbers

+ 2 generations
+ 15 employees
+ 20 years
+ 40 countries
+ 60 customers

Request a meeting Sales presentation

We determine the optimal solution and the most efficient approach for your logistics requirements based on your individual needs. The best basis for this is a personal presentation meeting where you can get to know us better, and we can understand exactly which factors are decisive for your business model. When would be a good time for you?

Schedule a meeting

Customers and markets

With our comprehensive approach based on well-founded expertise from more than 20 years of experience in the international logistics and trade market, we offer sustainable solutions and generate measurable value.

Partnering with us is in the interest of any company with an annual logistics volume of about 1,000 sea freight containers or more. But we also offer special solutions for smaller volumes.

Our customers include companies from the wholesale and retail trade in various industries – e.g. electronics, cosmetics, furniture, footwear, and clothing, but also mechanical engineering or the electrical industry.

 

To customers and markets

60 customers

trust us with organizing their supply chain

 

40 countries

are connected via our tailor-made logistics solutions

 

20 years

of experience and expertise at the service of our customers

This site uses cookies. You can find more information on this in our privacy policy.

Prologue: Durchdachte Logistik weltweit

Als renommierter und führender Fourth Party Logistics Provider (4PL) konzipiert, strukturiert und optimiert Prologue für Unternehmenskunden die gesamte Supply Chain inklusive aller Management- und Organisationsprozesse.

4PL vs. Speditionsunternehmen

Was unterscheidet 4PL Provider von Speditionsunternehmen? Prologue versteht sich als unabhängiger Supply Chain Integrator, der alle dienstleistenden Partner, sowie den Informationsfluss zentral steuert und optimiert. Dabei können alle Leistungen flexibel und individuell basierend auf „Best of Breed“ Lösungen an die jeweilige Kundenanforderung angepasst werden. Denn eine Auslastung eigener Transport- oder Lagerressourcen ist nicht erforderlich. Stattdessen steht der reine Kundennutzen im Fokus.

Ihr Mehrwert

Welchen Mehrwert bieten wir? Prologue sichert maximale Effizienz bei der Beschaffungslogistik, unter Beachtung aller eingesetzten und zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen. Das Einsparpotential pro Jahr kann bei den gesamten Logistikkosten durchaus 20-30% betragen – bei maximaler Kostentransparenz und Planungssicherheit.

Unsere Kunden

Für wen ist das interessant? Die Zusammenarbeit mit Prologue ist für jedes Unternehmen interessant, das über ein jährliches Logistikvolumen ab ungefähr 1.000 Seefrachtcontainern verfügt. Für Kunden mit kleinerem Volumen bietet unser Tochterunternehmen Eurasia spezielle Lösungen an.

Die Alleinstellungsmerkmale

Was unterscheidet uns von anderen 4PL Providern? Sechs Aspekte unterscheiden Prologue wesentlich von Marktbegleitern und sind der Schlüssel für den nachhaltigen Unternehmenserfolg seit 20 Jahren.


 

1. Umfassende Beratung

Wir evaluieren alle relevanten Faktoren entlang der gesamten Supply Chain tiefgreifend und optimieren alle Komponenten als solche und im Zusammenspiel. Damit erzielen wir eine signifikante und dauerhafte Effizienzsteigerung.

2. Nachhaltiger Ansatz

Der Fokus bei unserer Vorgehensweise liegt nicht auf einer rein (tages-) preisgetrieben Kurzzeitperspektive, sondern auf einer mittel- bis langfristigen Betrachtung der Gesamtlogistikkosten.

3. Unbedingte Verlässlichkeit

Unser Netzwerk aus langjährigen Partnern entlang der gesamten Lieferkette besteht ausschließlich aus renommierten Unternehmen mit einem gemeinsamen Wertekodex und Qualitätsverständnis, dessen elementarer Kern die verlässliche Planungssicherheit für den Kunden ist.

4. Maximale Transparenz

Alle Kostenfaktoren entlang der gesamten Supply Chain legen wir detailliert offen und bieten maximale Transparenz bei allen Kosten. Von unseren Konditionen profitieren unsere Kunden ganz direkt. Ein Mischkalkulation zu Lasten des Kunden widerspricht unserem Selbstverständnis.

5. Fundierte Expertise

Das Geschäftsmodell und Leistungsspektrum von Prologue basiert auf der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Kompetenz und visionären Innovationskraft von zwei ausgewiesenen und renommierten Branchenexperten – Prof. Dr. Helmut Merkel und Hans Bröhl.

6. Etablierte Marktposition

Auf Basis jahrelanger verlässlicher Zusammenarbeit, genießt Prologue bei Reedereien einen Direktkundenstatus und somit Zugang zu exklusiven Vorteilen und Konditionen. Durch die transparente Weitergabe dieser besonderen Liefer- und Einkaufsbedingungen, profitieren Kunden von Prologue direkt und unmittelbar.

Die Prologue DNA

Zwei Generationen Gründergeist und 20 Jahre Innovationsfreude.

Den Grundstein für den nachhaltigen Unternehmenserfolg von Prologue legt Professor Dr. Helmut Merkel, der Vater des heutigen Geschäftsführers Patrick Merkel, basierend auf drei verschiedenen Faktoren:

1990 veröffentlichen Forscher am CERN, dem europäischen Kernforschungszentrum in der Schweiz, das Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) und schaffen damit die Grundlagen des World Wide Web. 1993 beobachtet Professor Dr. Merkel, dass sich erstmals Unternehmen, die an internationalen Versorgungsketten beteiligt sind, online zusammenschließen und ihre Beschaffungslogistik selbsteffizient steuerbar optimieren. Als Mitglied der Geschäftsführung eines grossen Schuheinzelhandelsunternehmens in Essen adaptiert er dieses zunächst großen Handelsfirmen vorbehaltene Privileg, entwickelt eine der modernsten Versorgungsketten der Welt und wird so zum aktiven Vorreiter und Vordenker der Digitalisierung.

Der internationale Transportmarkt ist für Unternehmen damals schwer zugängig. Seefrachtcarrier wie zum Beispiel Hapag Loyd verfügen über keinen eigenen Vertrieb. Diese Aufgabe übernehmen Spediteure, die feste Containervolumina buchen und als Ergebnis einer Mischkalkulation einen intransparenten Preis an ihre Kunden weitergeben. Um diese Strukturen aufzubrechen, wagt Professor Dr. Merkel mit seinem damaligen Arbeitgeber den Tabubruch und tritt in direkte Verhandlungen mit den Reedereien. Die gemeinsame Planungsgrundlage dafür ist einer der ersten Information Sharing Dienstleister der Welt in Hongkong. Das durchschlagende Ergebnis der Bemühungen: Direkter Zugang zum Seeverkehrsmarkt mit vollständiger Transparenz in der Lieferkette (Supply Chain).

1997 macht sich Professor Dr. Merkel mit dem Beratungsunternehmen IM+C selbstständig und arbeitet das Konzept des Information Sharing im Rahmen seiner Honorarprofessur an der Universität Mannheim wissenschaftlich weiter aus. Dabei entsteht die Geschäftsidee: Das Transportvolumen mehrerer kleiner Unternehmen ohne direkten Zugang zum Seeverkehrsmarkt zu bündeln, um großvolumige Lieferverträge direkt mit den Reedereien abzuschließen. Die daraus resultierenden Großkundenvorteile kommen den beteiligten Unternehmen unmittelbar zugute (Group Buying). Neben dem direkten Zugang zum Seeverkehrsmarkt gelingt eine weitere Premiere: Die Direktabrechnung mit den Reedereien ermöglicht erstmals eine vollständige Transparenz aller Kosten. Erste Kunden in dieser Zeit sind Unternehmen wie Esprit, NKD oder Hornbach, die zum Teil sogar bis heute betreut werden.

Meilensteine

2001 – Gründung der Prologue GmbH in Köln als Ausgründung der IM+C AG Unternehmensberatung in Mannheim durch Professor Dr. Helmut Merkel und Hans Bröhl, einen ausgewiesenen Logistikexperten und vormals Geschäftsführer der Panalpina Welttransport Holding AG.

2005 – Eröffnung des Büros in Hamburg mit Sven Schürnpeck als Geschäftsführer vor Ort.

2006 – Eröffnung des Büros in Hong Kong mit Patrick Merkel als Geschäftsführer vor Ort.

2014 – Wechsel des Firmenhauptsitzes nach Hamburg und Schließung des Kölner Büros.

2015 – Übernahme der Gesellschaft durch die Geschäftsführer von den Gründern.

Prologue Erfolgsfaktoren

Neben der technischen Innovationskraft und Digitalisierung aller Prozesse sind es insbesondere die Faktoren Vertrauen und Verlässlichkeit, die den nachhaltigen Erfolg von Prologue seit über 20 Jahren begründen.

Untermauert wird dies durch die vollständige Transparenz in der Kalkulation und die daraus resultierende Sicherheit in der Planung.

Überzeugende Zahlen

2 Generationen
15 Mitarbeiter
20 Jahre
40 Länder
60 Kunden

Terminanfrage Vertriebspräsentation

Die optimale Lösung und effizienteste Vorgehensweise für Ihre Logistikanforderung ermitteln wir auf Basis Ihres individuellen Bedarfs. Die beste Grundlage dafür ist ein persönlicher Präsentations- und Vorstellungstermin, bei dem Sie uns näher kennenlernen und wir genau verstehen, welche Faktoren für Ihr Geschäftsmodell entscheidend sind. Wann würde es Ihnen passen?

Termin vereinbaren

Kunden und Märkte

Mit unserem umfassenden Ansatz, basierend auf einer fundierten Expertise aus über 20 Jahren Erfahrung am internationalen Logistik- und Handelsmarkt, bieten wir nachhaltige Lösungen und generieren messbare Mehrwerte.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit uns ist für jedes Unternehmen interessant, das über ein jährliches Logistikvolumen ab ungefähr 1.000 Seefrachtcontainern verfügt. Aber auch für kleinere Volumina bieten wir spezielle Lösungen an.

Zu unseren Kunden zählen Unternehmen aus dem Groß- und Einzelhandel verschiedenster Branchen – z.B. aus Elektronik, Kosmetik, Möbel, Schuhe und Bekleidung, aber auch Maschinenbau oder Elektroindustrie.

 

Zu Kunden und Märkte

60 Kunden

vertrauen uns bei der Organisation ihrer Lieferkette

 

40 Länder

verbinden wir mit maßgeschneiderten Logistiklösungen

 

20 Jahre

Erfahrung und Expertise bieten wir unseren Kunden

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Nähere Informationen dazu finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.